Room Reservations
History  |  Features  |  Reviews

 

Victorian Hotel Reviews

WHAT PEOPLE ARE SAYING ABOUT US

 

5 of 5 starsReviewed 14 January 2014

I spent an entire week at the Victorian and couldn't have been more pleased. The hotel is located near Gastown, and only a few minutes' walk from Canada Place, Waterfront Station, the Vancouver Art Gallery, restaurants, pubs, the Visitor Centre, etc. The hotel itself was built during Klondike gold rush years of the late 1890s, but has been completely refurbished into a quietly comfortable "boutique" hotel, with several amenities: luxurious bath robe, personal coffee maker, WiFi, public access computers...

Although I was on a self-imposed "budget plan," the shared bath was always clean and stocked with plenty of fluffy towels. My room was smallish, but quiet and perfectly suited for my needs -- and the bed was over-sized and VERY comfortable. The continental breakfast offered a wide variety of good quality food, not to mention good coffee (often a rarity at a continental breakfast!).

As to the staff, what more can be said than "Outstanding"? Brian and Andrew were especially helpful with everything from tourism suggestions, to directions to the nearest convenience store -- and much in between. It's obvious that they are proud of their city and all it has to offer, and their enthusiasm and helpfulness were much appreciated.

Last, but certainly not least, was the amazingly wonderful Cecile, who (1) found my camera, (2) tracked me down at work 3000 miles away, and (3) mailed it back to me that very same afternoon! A million thanks, Cecile!!

So, if you're looking for a glitzy 200-room highrise hotel with a workout room, glassed-in exterior elevators, a swimming pool, and a stuffy concierge, don't stay at the Victorian. But if you want a comfy little "home away from home," staffed by friendly and helpful personnel, by all means make The Victorian your destination!

 
5 of 5 starsReviewed yesterday NEW

I spent an entire week at the Victorian and couldn't have been more pleased. The hotel is located near Gastown, and only a few minutes' walk from Canada Place, Waterfront Station, the Vancouver Art Gallery, restaurants, pubs, the Visitor Centre, etc. The hotel itself was built during Klondike gold rush years of the late 1890s, but has been completely refurbished into a quietly comfortable "boutique" hotel, with several amenities: luxurious bath robe, personal coffee maker, WiFi, public access computers...

Although I was on a self-imposed "budget plan," the shared bath was always clean and stocked with plenty of fluffy towels. My room was smallish, but quiet and perfectly suited for my needs -- and the bed was over-sized and VERY comfortable. The continental breakfast offered a wide variety of good quality food, not to mention good coffee (often a rarity at a continental breakfast!).

As to the staff, what more can be said than "Outstanding"? Brian and Andrew were especially helpful with everything from tourism suggestions, to directions to the nearest convenience store -- and much in between. It's obvious that they are proud of their city and all it has to offer, and their enthusiasm and helpfulness were much appreciated.

Last, but certainly not least, was the amazingly wonderful Cecile, who (1) found my camera, (2) tracked me down at work 3000 miles away, and (3) mailed it back to me that very same afternoon! A million thanks, Cecile!!

So, if you're looking for a glitzy 200-room highrise hotel with a workout room, glassed-in exterior elevators, a swimming pool, and a stuffy concierge, don't stay at the Victorian. But if you want a comfy little "home away from home," staffed by friendly and helpful personnel, by all means make The Victorian your destination!

 

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 starsValue
    • 5 of 5 starsLocation
    • 4 of 5 starsSleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 starsRooms
    • 5 of 5 starsCleanliness
    • 5 of 5 starsService

 

 

Most recent Trip Advisor comments

5 of 5 starsReviewed yesterday NEW

While booking Victorian hotel, I have some expectations, but during my stay they exceeded my expectation. The interior of hotel is inspired by Victorian style. All the rooms have wooden flooring and classy furniture. The lobby of hotel features perfect Victorian inspired look. Each and every corner of the hotel is perfectly blended with vintage look. 
Rooms are clean with comfortable beds and crispy white linen. Spacious bathroom equipped all the basic necessities, like soap, shampoo, towels and other. Their staff changes towel twice a day. Situated at an excellent location just a few minutes’ walk from restaurants, bars and famous sightseeing. They arrange breakfast for us, which just bonus for us. Nice, attractive and delicious pastries and lots of coffee and toast. The plus point of this hotel is that the staff is prompt, helpful, and friendly and has professional approach towards their work.
Basically clean hygienic and budget hotel to stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
 
 
 
5 of 5 starsReviewed 2 weeks ago

 

This is the second time I have stayed here. and on this second visit it was for two nights. I just read the previous review and was quite amazed. This hotel is in a building that was built around 1896. Lots of old world charm and character. The hallways sort of feel seedy-chic, but the rooms are lovely. High ceilings, antique style furnishings, Wonderful trim on the doors and windows. Modern bathrooms. GREAT king beds and wonderful linens (major plus) -- also fabulous robes. I bought one on my first visit and am buying two more this time! On my second visit, I stayed on the ground floor (which is still high above street leve.) because there is no elevator. Each time I enjoyed the free breakfast of fruit, yogurt, granola and fantastic croissants (really!) available from 7 - 9 am. The staff here are all very friendly and helpful. It is a family owned hotel and feels personal and "homey". It is well situated in the city and you can walk to everything. It has gated parking in the back. And as such, to me it is an incredible value for what you receive for what they charge. An attractive room with elegant touches, King bed, parking plus taxes fro $130. What's not to like? I agree with an earleir review that called it a hidden gem. Totally.
I come to Vancouver a lot (live on an island near by) and this is definitely going to be my home away from home. Note: I am a fussy person. I have to have a great bed. I have to feel comfortable about where I am staying and I travel a lot incidentally. I would say it has a European feel. It is much much nicer than the Beacon Hotel on the Upper West side of Manhattan where I stayed in October for $400 a night. (and no free breakfast there, or robes.)
This place is a true value.

 

5 of 5 starsReviewed 2 days ago NEW

I had never visited Vancouver BC before and decided to take myself there for my birthday. A friend of mine advised me that I should look for a room near Gas Town so I went on trip advisor and started to search. I found the room at this hotel from the reviews on Trip Advisor and thought I would give it a shot. The staff is very friendly and helpful and from the moment you arrive they are kind and willing to help you in any way. I booked a Delux King Room and I was VERY PLEASED with how large and well appointed it was for a hotel of this age. High ceilings, very comfy bed, old world furnishings, and the bathroom was beautiful with a HUGE deep soaking tub. The room was also outfitted with a huge flat screen TV and lots of seating as well.

The hall ways in this hotel are a little rustic but very charming lined with old fashioned furnishings, and there is no elevator so if you have special needs request a ground floor room. The breakfast offered is basic items like toast, fruit, milk, cereal, etc. Its not fancy but if you want a fancy breakfast go out pay for one! I hate when people are offered free food and then complian about it! Actually what they offer is very healthy and what people should be eating anyway. 

For the quality of the service and the quality of the rooms this hotel is a great value. Also, you are a three minute walk from the main area in Gas Town, and a 10 minutes brisk walk from the trendy Yale Town area. So this is a great location. If you arrive at night it looks very quiet and bleak, but at daybreak it comes to life and is a good safe area. Another good thing is that they have a gated and secure parking lot. The parking daily charges are minimal and if you rent a car or drive your own car there is no street parking so the parking lot is a great and secure feature. Its a short drive from Stanley Park, Capilano Bridge, and Grouse Mountain so you are in the heart of all of the fun. I would stay here again without question and I feel The Victorian really is a great deal for what they offer!

Room Tip: Ask for a room toward the back of the hotel off of Homer street if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 starsValue
    • 5 of 5 starsLocation
    • 4 of 5 starsSleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 starsRooms
    • 5 of 5 starsCleanliness
    • 5 of 5 starsService
5 of 5 starsReviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

A true, hidden gem in the heart of Vancouver! Short distance to everything. The building, currently being updated here and there, has lots of personality and charm. Our room was great with two large beds and a corner with a couch and chairs where we could sit and read. We had our own bathroom, so it was really just perfect! Free wifi and breakfast only adds to the nice experience! Very friendly and helpful staff. Even the housemaids we met in the hallways! We will be back again whenever we visit Vancouver in the future! This is the type of hotel that stands out from the mass of sad, sad chainhotels that all deliver a certain service but have absolutely no charm at all.

Cute, clean and comfortable.

4 of 5 starsReviewed 3 weeks ago

We spent two nights here. We had a hockey game to see one night and a concert the next. This hotel is in a great location to walk to venues, restaurants and shopping. We booked a deluxe room. The price was great. The room was a corner suite, large and clean. We had our own bathroom. The bed was king size and super comfortable. Nice linens and king size increadibly comfortable pillows. Best hotel bed I've had. Housekeeping was great. 
I loved the charm the building had. Check-in and check-out was quick and easy. I will be back.

5 of 5 starsReviewed 3 weeks ago

This lovely Victorian inspired hotel exceeded my expectations! Great beds with crisp white sheets and duvet....deluxe! I slept in comfort. Bathrooms spotless, with bathmats and towels that were changed out twice per day. The shampoo was natural and contained lovely smelling essential oils. 
I enjoyed the organic feel, victorian decor and quaintness of the hotel.
Breakfast was visually appealing, and yummy. Great start to the day! 
Handy to shopping, restaurants, coffee shops, and major transportation. Staff were courteous, friendly and helpful. 
I highly recommend this gem. I can't imagine staying anywhere else.

4 of 5 starsReviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed here for 3 nights earlier this month and found this hotel to be just the ticket.

A 5 minute walk from the Waterfront Skytrain station, which on on the direct line from the airport. Nice bars, shops and cafes nearby, and close the Canada Place if you're heading off on a cruise, or just like to gawk at the liners.

Our room has shared facilities which suited us fine, the bathrooms were clean (and always availble) and the bedrooms too were spotless and very comfortable. Quality linen and beautiful polished wood floors.

The complimentary breakfast was a bonus too, enougn tea, coffee, toast, cereals and pastries to set you up for the day. No complaints at all.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple

 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
4 of 5 starsReviewed 3 weeks ago

We spent two nights here. We had a hockey game to see one night and a concert the next. This hotel is in a great location to walk to venues, restaurants and shopping. We booked a deluxe room. The price was great. The room was a corner suite, large and clean. We had our own bathroom. The bed was king size and super comfortable. Nice linens and king size increadibly comfortable pillows. Best hotel bed I've had. Housekeeping was great. 
I loved the charm the building had. Check-in and check-out was quick and easy. I will be back.

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
  CLICK TO VIEW FULL SIZE IMAGE